# ACTE BUSINESS EDUCATION DIVISION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING WESTGATE HOTEL – CONFERENCE ROOM 10 11:30A-12:30P – NOVEMBER 30, 2016

#### In attendance:

Policy Committee Members: Kelli Diemer-ACTE/BE Division President; Melissa Scott-NASBE Representative; Jim Gleason-MBA Research; Kay Orrell-BED Representative to ACTE Resolutions Committee; Annika Russell-BED Professional Development Committee Chair

Guests: Jennifer Anderson, Iowa; Carrie Kohl, Iowa; Betty Montgomery, Kentucky; Jamillah Stanford, Georgia; Kim Orrick, Georgia; Sheila Cox-Marshall, Georgia

The Policy Committee meeting was called to order at 11:30 am by Business Education Division President, Kelli Diemer.

Business Education Policy Committee membership was reviewed. :

The November 19, 2015, Business Education Policy Committee minutes were approved.

Business Education Division President, Kelli Diemer, gave the BE Division President's Report since the beginning of her term on July 1, 2016.

## **ACTE Business Education Division Associated Organizations' Reports**

NASBE – Delayne Havolic (not present); Melissa Scott gave the report.

MBA Research – Jim Gleason gave an update. Kelli thanked MBA Research for the VISION Business Education pamphlets.

BPA – Kirk Lawson (not present) – no report

FBLA/PBL – Jean Buckley (not present) – no report

#### **ACTE Standing Committee Reports**

Bylaws (Sean Crevier, IL) - (not present); no Bylaws were proposed this year.

Nominating (Geralyn Stephens, MI)— (not present); Kelli reminded committee of open positions and election timeline.

Resolutions (Kay Orell, CA) – Kay presented the two resolutions that have been proposed.

## **ACTE/Business Education Division Chairs' Reports**

Legislative (Justin Niel)-(not present) no report

Professional Development (Annika Russell) – Annika reported on this year's VISION breakout sessions for Business Education. Also that they are looking for volunteers to help with proposal reviews for VISION 2017.

Awards (open) – Kelli reported on the Business Education student awards and educator award that will be presented at the Business Education Division Opening Session. Looking for a person to fill this position.

#### **Student Award Winners:**

Secondary		Post Secondary	
Region 1		Region 1	
Vanessa Ting	NJ	Mary Golden	NY
Region 2		Region 2	
Ryan Apigian	VA	Warren Sukienik	TN
Region 3		Region 3	
Niel Patel	MO	Emmalee Smith	МО
Region 4		Region 4	
Emily Richey	AR	Merry Dimanh	TX
Region 5		Region 5	
Ojus Jain	NE	Mark Creech	AZ
Award of Merit - Gary	Hutchison, IL		

## **BE Division Financials and Proposed Budget**

Kelli presented the Business Education Division financials as of November 30, 2016. The FY18 proposed budget was presented as well as the designated funds budget for the Business Education Division. It was proposed to sponsor a Fellow (\$1000) with \$500 from Operating budget and \$500 from the Designated Funds budget. Proposal was passed. FY18 Business Education Division Budget was approved.

Expenses	Proposed
	FY18
Business Education:	
5230-403 Dues/Subscriptions/Registrations - Business Div.	\$ 1,500.00
5240-403 Travel Expense - Business Education	\$ 2,525.75
5500-403 Meeting Expense - Business	\$ 350.00
5580-403 Food & Beverage - Business	\$ -
5800-403 Shipping/Mailing Expense - Business	\$ _
5810-403 Printing Expense - Business	\$ 300.00
5900-403 Office/Mailroom Supplies - Business	\$ _
6120-403 Communications - Business	\$ _
6300-403 Awards & Grants - Business	\$ 800.00
6900-403 Miscellaneous - Business	\$ -
Total Expenses	\$ 5,475.75

# **ACTE National Award Finalists (with Business Education connection)**

Region	State	Award	Candidate
V	Nebraska	ACTE Administrator of the Year	DeLayne Havlovic
V	Montana	ACTE New Teacher of the Year	Chad Eichenlaub
III	Minnesota	ACTE Teacher of the Year	Callon Siebenahler

ACTE Elections - Kelli reminded everyone about the election timeline for electing a VP-elect or VP for the Business Division.

Upcoming activities during VISION – BE Division Opening Session on Thursday December 1 and BE Division Business Meeting on Friday, December 2.

The Policy Committee adjourned at 12:35 pm.

-